You are here:Home>>>News Detail

Senior officers from ten countries graduate at RDF Command and Staff College

Musanze, 7 June 2019

Forty-seven (47) Senior Officers from Rwanda Defence Force (RDF), Rwanda National Police and nine other allied Armed Forces from African countries have graduated from the-one-year long Senior Command and Staff Course Intake-07. The graduation ceremony was presided over by the RDF Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) Gen Patrick Nyamvumba on behalf of the President of the Republic and Commander-in-Chief of RDF.

The student officers have been undergoing a year-long course in analytical and communication skills, personal and collective values, as well as professional military knowledge designed to help them in their future command and leadership management responsibilities.

CDS Gen Nyamvumba extended his gratitude to each and every one who contributed to the success completion of the course and encouraged them to share experience and insight in various approaches to overcome security challenges at national, regional, continental and at global level. “As you depart, go and convincingly use that knowledge to contribute in whichever way you can and in the best possible manner to make Africa peaceful, strong, prosperous and a better place to live,” he said.

“I believe that your studies here have equipped you with the necessary analytical, planning and communication skills to enable you make the transition from tactical to operational and strategic focus and to deal with complex security challenges,’’ he added.

The 47 graduates were awarded with the symbol ‘Passed Staff College’ certificate and among them 30 also were awarded a Master of Arts degree in Security studies by the National University of Rwanda.

Major Evans Mensa KOMEDJAH from Ghana emerged the best overall student followed by Major Emmanuel Mugabo from Rwanda who was the second-best overall student and the third was Lt Col Allan Gilbert Mittawa from Malawi.

The graduates were of the rank of Major and Lieutenant Colonel from Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

Other News